June Book Review | 2017

Hey Everyone!

A little while ago, I told you that I wanted to start blogging about the books I am reading and incorporating that more into my blog. I just wasn’t sure how I was going to do that, but, I have it figured out. Each month I am going to do a review of the books that I read and let you know how I felt about them. This is the easiest way for me to do this and I get to incorporate another thing I love 🙂


It's not okay

So, if you are a fan of the Bachelor franchise then you most likely knew about this book and may have already read it. I got into the show back when Andi was a contestant and instantly loved her. I have stopped watching the show as I don’t really agree with it anymore and the drama is a little forced (that is an understatement). Anyways, back to this book. I read it because I wanted to hear her side of the story and all the crap she went through, especially with a very public breakup. This book did just that and it made me realize that she is human just like everyone else. The only thing that about the book that made it hard for me to connect with is that it is all about a breakup and getting through it. I think this book would be a very good read for anyone who is going through heartbreak and needs that extra someone to go through it with them. She did talk a lot about behind the scenes of the show, so if you want to know more about that, then definitely read this book.

Overall rating: 3/5

Hate Fuck

I know, this book title is something else and the cover…yeah, not going to say anything. This book was interesting and not interesting all at the same time. I started it because the overview of it sounded really good. The reviews seemed like it was a good book too, but I soon found out that I was completely fooled. Pretty much, the book is about a group of “fixers” If you watch Scandal, then you know what I am talking about. They take on clients where they try to fix and cover up certain situations, so their clients don’t get caught for it. However, the main part of the story is the main guy in the group falling for his client’s daughter and how his job affects their relationship. I wish there was more of the actual “fixing” being told than the relationship aspect. The whole book took me a month to read which is insane in my world. I knew this wasn’t going to be good a few chapters in, but I had to finish it.

Overall rating: 2/5

What's left of me

Wow, this book. This was the last book that I read this month and it was one of the most emotional books I have read in awhile. This book was actually a free book that I found on Kobo. Free books are always a hit or miss, but this one was definitely a hit. The story is about a girl who has cancer and she moved in with her sister, as the treatment she needed was in another city. Living in this new city, she met a guy who she had a strong attraction with but made it known that she didn’t want anything else. Obviously, he didn’t accept that answer and did everything that he can to be with her. Eventually, they end up together and she has the task of telling him that she has cancer. The story from there is absolutely beautiful, heartwarming and heartbreaking all in one. It makes you open your eyes to love, life and how you should never take anything for granted. This whole story made me cry and I am still thinking about.

Overall rating: 5/5…obviously.


I will be back next month with a new list of books. Let me know if there is a book that you read this past month that you couldn’t put down!

Until next time…

 

Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter

6 thoughts on “June Book Review | 2017

  1. I love this post idea! I enjoy hearing what others are currently reading. I have really been into suspense books lately. Lisa Gardner is my latest author discovery, and I 10/10 recommend her books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

